I hope I am posting in the appropriate place, I am in the process of building a 3 String cbg and I Want to fret the neck. I have seen necks with 14 frets which should be what I will need. It will be tuned GDG, and I want it for slide, with some 3.string chords as well which is why I want to have frets. I have the wood for the neck, which is oak 2x1 inches and 36 inches in length. I am fitting a brass nut which I will make. So what I would like to know is as its only 14 Frets, do I have to shorten the neck, and also how to calculate the fret positions. I am planning to fit a hard tail adjustable bridge. I was an engineer by trade, and now retired, and this will be my first build, I would be so grateful for any help and advice in this regard. Thanks In Advance Phil Hale

You need to be a member of Cigar Box Nation to add comments!

Join Cigar Box Nation

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• There are several fret calculators online, which you should be able to find via Google.  Personally, I use WFret.  WFret is a free program that can be used to calculate fret positions and also print a template.  I don't remember where I found the download, but again, a Google search should find it for you.

306535363?profile=RESIZE_1024x1024

• Yes thanks for this Eric, I managed to get it loaded, but just a quick query, as to how my A4 printer will cope with the length.
      Thanks for the info on wfret.

Regards Phil
      • Philip,  this is what I printed using a 25" scale w/14 frets.  I scanned the page and save it as a PDF file...

PhilipsFret.pdf

• Hey thanks for that I am truly grateful. Thanks sooo much for your time with this. I have quite a lot of the bits now.
          I am one of those people who needs to have all the stages clear in my head, getting into it.

Take Care
          Respect Phil
          • Not a problem.  I try to help where I can.  I like to believe that is the spirit of this community.  Enjoy your project.