Hi guys I am a complete beginner and have been watching on you tube 3 stringed cigar box guitar for dummies,the tuning is GDG what strings should be used for that tuning as when I slide to the 12 fret my sound is completely different to that on the video .I am using the three lighter stings from a light set????Mal

Views: 383

Replies to This Discussion

i am no expert at this by any means. i made a g'tar a couple of days ago and i used the A D and G strings. as for sounding different at fret 12, it may be that you need to change the distance of the bridge from the nut. either way will adjust the note at fret 12 so its a case of playing with it. i set mine up using an electric tuner initially. i know a lot of people say not to bother but i wanted to get the tuning right down the fretboard. i found an anomally on the D string in that it is D open and D on the 11th fret. both G strings are G at the 12th so i have no clue what is going on there. if your bridge is fixed and not adjustable then i don't know what to suggest. the other thing i noticed that noone told me is that if using a slide then you have to be directly over the fret to play the note, if you go for usual finger positions it sounds monsterously out of tune.
ok you got a G  and a D already .so tune your A string down to G low i like heavy strings better tone and louder but play whats comfy for you .from low to high A tuned down to (GDg) its kind of a low tuning i like (DAd)  use a D and a B tuned down to A and a E tuned down to D you can detune a full step on any string like E to D or D to C you can also tune up a full step but be careful this will give you options ohh streach your strings by pulling on them then retune till it stays in tune